Child Abuse

There I was reading the newspaper when I came across another story about child abuse. It seems like there are at least 3 or 4 stories a week involving child abuse. That’s just crazy, and that is only the cases that make the news. In the story I read, the little boy, under 2, was beat to death by his mothers boyfriend. And it wasn’t a one time beating. The little boy was beaten all the time, until he couldn’t take it anymore. I have two kids around that age, so it really hits home for me. What I don’t understand is the mom. I mean seriously, if your son is being beaten, there are some signs that you might see. Like he is scared of the person doing the beating, or I don’t know.. BRUISES. Come on moms, start listening and watching your children. You say you trust the man you met a couple weeks ago at a bar enough to watch your son while your at work. But that’s not realistic. I understand you may not have a lot of options on where to drop your child off while you go to work. But you need to remember that the safety of your children should always come first. And what I really can’t stand is after the man is charged and convicted, the woman still stays with him and denies he did anything wrong, or makes excuses like ‘he didn’t mean to do it’. Ladies you need to just man up and leave the loser. Get real. This man just killed your child. You don’t have to stay with him, you don’t owe him anything. He just ruined the best thing in your life and you bow down to him. Hello?? Anyone else see something wrong with that? I’m sick and tired of reading about these poor children.

You know, I have friends/family that look at me like I’m stupid all the time. Just because I have two kids. Age 2 and 3. I watch them like a hawk. People look at me like I’m crazy because when they were under 2 I would walk around the bottom of the jungle gym when they were playing on it, so I could catch them if they fell. Maybe I am crazy, but its better than letting them fall off. I saw a 2yr old boy get pushed off the jungle gym by an older boy and his parent was on the other side of the soccer field not paying attention. So when I see something like that, It makes me feel a little less crazy. People tell me all the time, you cant protect them forever. And all I have to say is, it is my duty as a mother to protect them for as long as I can. And when I cant anymore, then I cant. But I will prevent all the broken bones and injuries as I can.

3 Comments »

  1. Howard Said:

    Depending on age, sometimes a little broken bone is what they need. I never expereience this when I was little … so now I sort of fear pain because I don’t understand it.

    • mami91910 Said:

      A good friend of mine told me she doesn’t do anything out of the norm (such as sky diving or cliff diving) because she scared of pain. Even though she may not get hurt, she still wont do it and says its because she was never hurt during childhood.
      She won’t even snowboard or ski, she just watches us when we go!

  2. nonracist Said:

    It is the DUTY of every adult to protect children,their own or a strangers.
    Being, as children,the true innocent’s in this crazy Corporate world.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

